top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureProsecco and Pineapple

Vegan for a Day...

Last summer I decided I needed a carefree and travel filled break... I planned numerous weekend get aways, trips to the Bahamas, and a trip to Barbados. I had a blast! I soaked up the sun, drank away the days, and ate until my heart was content! Now as much fun as I was having I paid for it at the end with 8lbs and complete exhaustion! I was only home for 2 weeks the entire summer and not consecutively I might add. With the overwhelming reality setting in I decided to go vegan to cleanse my body. I didn't set a time frame. I just wanted to see how long I could make it... well I made it ONE full day! The hardest part for me wasn't the meat, but the dairy!! I just LOVE cheese!

Now, although I did not succeed with the vegan way of life I found a few amazing recipes that I found to be sooooooo delicious I kept them in my little bag of foodie tricks.

The first recipe I am going to share is my all time favorite! A roasted garlic and vegan cauliflower soup! So full of flavor and so creamy you don't miss the dairy at all. The second recipe is one I have mastered over the last 3-4 years... A coconut Thai curry filled with veggies.

I have found that when a meal is hardy and full of flavor you don't even miss the things you feel you must have to be satisfied.


XOXO,

Meagan


 

Roasted Garlic and Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients:

For the Soup:

1/2 cup raw cashews soaked for at least 2 hours 1 head cauliflower 1 garlic bulb 2 tablespoons oil 1 container Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus 1 carton vegetable broth 2 cups water + more as needed 1 Tb miso paste Salt + pepper to taste Additional garlic if desired (garlic salt or paste)


For the Garnish:

3 cloves of garlic, sliced

chives

Reserved oil from garlic chips

Cooking Instructions:

For the Soup:

Add cashews to a bowl, cover with hot water and let soak for at least 2 hours. Preheat the oven to 425ºF. Chop cauliflower into florets. Arrange on a baking sheet and drizzle with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil (I use avocado oil). Season with salt and pepper. Cut the top off the garlic bulb so that some of the cloves are slightly exposed. Drizzle with remaining oil and season with salt and pepper. Wrap bulb in tin foil and place on sheet with vegetables. Roast for 25-30 minutes until the cauliflower is starting to brown. Check the garlic after 15 minutes to make sure it isn't burning. Allow the cauliflower to cool slightly then add them to a blender. Squeeze the garlic bulb out of skin and add it to the blender as well. Add remaining ingredients and purée until smooth. Transfer to stove top. Warm through and serve or chill and reheat throughout the week.

For the Garnish:

Heat a pan on the stove over medium heat. Add the garlic slices to the skillet. The garlic should slightly sizzle when they enter the oil. Spread the garlic slices into a thin and even layer. Reduce the heat to medium-low (the slices should be actively bubbling in the pan, but not gaining color too quickly).

*** I let mine get too brown/ burnt and the were SUPER bitter*** So watch closely!

Cook garlic for about 2 to 3 minutes or until the garlic slices are light golden brown in color.

Use a medal slotted spoon or spatula to transfer the garlic chips to a paper towel lined plate, separating them into a single layer to soak up any excess oil. Allow garlic to cool completely before using or storing. Garlic chips can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a month, but will be best immediately after cooking. Next, transfer the garlic-infused oil into a small, airtight container and store in the refrigerator for up to a month.


A cup of this soup topped with a drizzle of garlic oil, a sprinkle of chives, and garlic chips (that are not burnt) will keep you satisfied for an entire week. The batch is pretty substantial. I ate off of it for a week and still had leftovers. I have not tried freezing it, but I don't see why you couldn't...it's definitely not a soup you want to throw away, just too delicious!


Make it simple... This is a blender soup and incredibly easy to make. I have left out the miso before and it was still delicious. Make sure you taste the soup as you blend in ingredients. I sometimes like to add extra garlic salt or chunky garlic in a tube... it's all about personal taste! I happen to LOVE garlic!


 

Vegetable Thai Coconut Curry Soup

Ingredients:

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger

2 tablespoons red curry paste

2 tablespoons coconut oil

1 pack of assorted mushrooms, chopped

1 small eggplant, cubed

1 bunch broccolini, chopped

1/2 red onion, sliced

1 bag of pre-sliced radish

4 cups veggie

2 cans unsweetened coconut milk

chopped fresh cilantro for garnish

sliced red Fresno chilies, jalapeno and green onion for garnish

salt and pepper to taste


Cooking Instructions:

Combine the garlic, ginger and curry paste in a small food processor or mince and mash them together. Add the coconut oil & combine well.

In a large pot heat the curry paste over medium heat for 1-2 minutes.

Add the broth and deglaze the pot. Add the coconut milk and bring the mixture to a boil. Season with salt if needed.

In a separate pan, over medium heat, cook assorted veggies in oil for 10 or until caramelized slightly. (this may need to be done in batches.. don't over crowed the pan) Season with salt and pepper and transfer to curry soup.


Garnish with sliced jalapenos, cilantro, and green onion. Serve immediately or store in a container in the fridge! The flavors continue to develop as it sits!


Make it Simple... You can buy ginger and garlic in a tube in the refrigerated produce section... this allows you to skip the food processor step! Less clean up... just saying!!!


80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page